top of page
Search

Michigan LB ready to showcase talents at South Florida



After a career in which he was one of the most feared and best linebackers in the state of Michigan, Michael Williams II, of West Bloomfield High School (MI), is ready to showcase his talents at the next level after recently committing to the University of South Florida.


For Williams, a passion for football and a drive to the best began immediately after his introduction to the sport at the tender age of 3.


"I got into football when I was 3 with just a little touch football. Then I quickly realized I just was not made for touch, and I liked to hit people a lot. So my favorite part would for sure be the contact," Williams recently told Heartland Sports Report.


And, he has made contact and hit a lot of people during his career at West Bloomfield. The senior star is ranked as the 37th best linebacker in the country and the 10th best prospect in Michigan by 247Sports.


After missing most of the 2020 season with a knee injury, the 6-foot-3-inch, 220-pound star made his impact felt in the 2021 season, recording 24 sacks (a West Bloomfield school record and fourth all-time in Michigan high school single-season records), 63 total stops and 17 tackles for a loss.


As a result, he was named the MLive Metro Detroit Defensive Player-of-the-Year, something he admits was quite the honor.


"It felt amazing to wake up and see that. I am not really surprised with my success. I put the work in and I felt like I deserved it, and I had a lot of people help me work on being a better player. I would have to say thank you to them first and then say I give them some credit, feels great, truthfully, to be respected in the nation," Williams admitted.


The success and impact also extended off the field this season for Williams, who was one of the captains selected to attend the visitation of Tate Myre, who died in a school shooting last December in Michigan. Myre was a standout player for the Oxford Wildcats.


"it meant a lot honestly, just to talk to his family and make them smile. It was an experience I'll never forget, and it taught me to never take moments for granted and cherish everything," Williams told HSR of the experience.


Williams drew quite a bit of attention on the recruiting trail, attracting offers from the likes of: Michigan, Michigan State, Cincinnati, Kentucky, Tennessee, West Virginia and Arizona State, among others before setting his sights on the University of South Florida. According to 247Sports, he is the top ranked USF recruit in the 247Sports Composite for the 2022 recycling cycle and the highest rated recruit to commit to the Bulls since 2016, as 247Sports has Williams ranked as the 15th best all-time recruit.


Williams, who will play outside linebacker at the next level, admitted he was looking for a place that would feel like home to him.


"Honestly, I hope to just to make a name for myself," Williams said.

194 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page