top of page
Search

Parker Bros. ready to take games to Univ. of Washington



For Jayvon and Armon Parker, football truly is a way of life.

It has been that way since the brothers have been 7 years old and has continued as they wrapped up their careers at Fordson High School in Dearborn, Mich. and will continue as the two have recently signed with the University of Washington.


"I got into football because of my father. He took us out to play at 7 years old and we never turned back. I thank my dad for doing that because it changed my life forever. What I like most about football is letting some built up anger come out on the field. Also, I like to manhandle people and they can’t do nothing about it lol. I love playing defense because I get to hit people as hard as I want and won’t get in any trouble," said Jayvon, a 6-foot-4-inch, 270-pound defensive lineman.


For brother Armon, his start in football was similar to that of his brother, as he said after his first taste of the sport, he wanted to continue playing.


"What I enjoy the most is being able to sack the quarterback and proving people wrong when they tell you that you are not good," Armon told Heartland Sports Report.


The two defensive linemen have done a great job of proving people wrong for years, and will leave quite the imprint on the Fordson football program.


The two brothers admit to not being surprised with their success, pointing to the work that they both put into mastering their craft and pushing each other in the weight room.


"I will be honest with you, I am not surprised with the success because I know what work I put in to be in this position. Also, I am happy people are getting on notice on what my brother and I am capable of. I know that God has a plan for me, so I continue to believe in Him and everything and anything is possible," Jayvon told HSR.


Armon echoed those same sentiments.


"I would say that I worked hard in the weight room and on the field to be acknowledged as one of those players. Also I learned how to use my hands and be explosive off the ball," Armon noted.


The upside for the two twin brothers is huge.


Armon finished the season with 65 tackles, 23 tackles for loss, 10 sacks, 12 quarterback hurries and four forced fumbles. Jayvon, on the other hand, finished the year with six sacks, 11 tackles for loss, 70 tackles, two forced fumbles and five quarterback hurries.


Despite the success on the field, the Parker Brothers were not highly touted or recruited, earning three stars by 247Sports.com and not drawing a lot of attention.

However, the two admit the numbers do not tell the whole story, as they are the first high school commits of the second signing period for newly hired University of Washington coach Kalen DeBoer, who replaced Jimmy Lake at the end of last year.


The two admit they have a message for the doubters and those thinking they don't belong in the Pac 12.


"Yes, I feel like I have something to prove to people. I want to show them why I’m one of the best defensive tackles in my class," Jayvon said.


For Armon, he wants to show people that a player from a small school can do big things.


"I came from a small school and nobody knew who I was until last summer, so yes, I feel like I have something to prove," he said.


And, the two are excited about being the first commits for DeBoer in the second signing period out of high school, something that did not escape Jayvon.


"It’s a honor to be one of the first high school commits for coach DeBoer. I thank him and for believing in me and my brother to come in and make a change on the line. I also will like to thank coach Inoke (Breckterfield) for recruiting me, believing we can come in and thrive in the PAC-12 and sees a lot of potential in us," he told Heartland Sports Report.


What set Washington apart for the two?

It was quite a few, according to the twins.


"Washington stood out because of the energy and the love that came from every one there. It felt like a great fit because the coaches love their players and want to see them succeed," Jayvon admitted.


Armon also acknowledged how welcoming the coaching staff was to him and his family.


"The coaching staff being so welcoming is what stood out. It feels great because he wanted me and my brother out of anyone else and now I’m going to work very hard to make sure he made the right choice," Armon said of Coach DeBoer.


While the Parkers found plenty to like about the Huskies, Washington's coaches found a lot to like in their new defensive linemen as well.


"They liked my personality, my size and the way I use my hands, along with the length I bring. My goal is to make a big impact playing in Washington," Armon said.


Jayvon told HSR the coaches liked his hands, feet and power on the field.


" They liked that I can see the field and make plays. Also, they said the sky is the limit on my potential and coach Inoke can bring it out," Jayvon said.







1,248 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page