top of page
Search

Bloomington North standout honors mother each time on court

Updated: Jan 1, 2022

You taught me everything

Everything you've given me

I'll always keep it inside

You're the driving force in my life, yeah

Boyz II Men, A Song for Mama


For Bloomington North High School (IN) standout JaQualon (JQ) Roberts, his success on the basketball court can be traced back to his mother, who Roberts said not only got him into the game, but was his first trainer.


"We would go to the park and shoot until the lights turned off. She was my first trainer. She played for a little bit. She’s done so much for me in my life so I want to give back to her as much as possible. When I play, I play for her and my sister. And all of the kids that have the dreams that I did when I was little too. I know she’s always proud of me no matter what," Roberts said.


After a strong sophomore season that saw Roberts average 11.6 points and 6.4 rebounds per game, he entered his junior season focused on helping the Cougars taste success this season. And, he has done just that with Bloomington North recently finishing second in a holiday tournament at Connersville, where the Cougars fell 48-40 to Bedford North Lawrence in the finals of the BNL Tournament. In the first game of the tournament, Roberts hit a season high 27 points.


"God gave me the opportunity to be somebody that people can look up to so everyday I just strive to be that. My success comes from my work ethic and my love for basketball. I’m not surprised, just thankful and humble," Roberts said.


After strong freshman and sophomore campaigns, Roberts has evolved into quite the player and is drawing the attention of numerous colleges. He told HSR that his progression can be traced back to his strong work on the court and in the film room.


"I watch a lot of film to see what I need to work on and decisions I make in the game. I go to the gym and practice those scenarios and improve my overall game. I’m a versatile player who can play and guard multiple positions. I grab a lot of rebounds and I’m really fast so when I catch it, I can push it down the court. I give my coaches 100 percent effort and stay ready for whatever they need me to do on the court," Roberts said.


The small forward has garnered offers from the likes of: Akron, Bradley, Butler, IUPUI, Indiana, Indiana State, Iowa, UMass, Miami (OH), Northern Illinois and Stetson. In addition, he has drawn attention from the likes of Cincinnati, Utah, Marquette, Toledo, Xavier and several others. He said his recruiting has gone well thus far. as he continues to become one of the premier players in the country.


"It’s been great! I’ve been going on these visits and taking everything in. Mostly just making sure I don’t take anything for granted. With COVID, you don’t know what could happen. It feels good to have success but I know it doesn’t stop there. I still have much to improve on skillfully and mentally. I’m working hard every day to earn and deserve that title," Roberts said.


The offer from the hometown Hoosiers is one that excites the junior, who said Indiana is high atop his list of top programs. As for what interests him about Indiana, Roberts said there are several things.


"Definitely the culture and the program and Coach (Mike) Woodson being there. I had multiple conversations with Coach Woodson and his plan for IU and their future. I had talks with some of the players and can relate to them too. Of course that was also the first university that I saw as a kid," Roberts noted.


However, a college decision can wait for the time being, as Roberts is focused on leading Bloomington North to success the remainder of the season.


"My goals are to have a winning season, keep improving my game, and advance far in the post-season," Roberts said.


359 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page