top of page
Search

Despite youth, West Bloomfield star is a defensive force



He may only be a sophomore and 15 years old, but that is not stopping West Bloomfield High School (MI) star Brandon Davis-Swain from being a force on the defensive side of the football.

With 18 sacks and 12 tackles for loss last season as a sophomore, Davis-Swain has made a name for himself not only within the state of Michigan, but also across the country, as his recruiting has started to heat up recently.


For Davis-Swain, the success he is enjoying is nothing new for the defensive lineman and tight end, who was introduced to football by his father at a young age.


"My dad showed me football and I have been playing since I was 8. I enjoy getting sacks and playing with my team. It’s a good program at West Bloomfield," Davis-Swain told Heartland Sports Report recently.

Davis-Swain said his sack success can be traced back to what he sees at the line of scrimmage just prior to the ball being snapped.

"I look at how they stand, where they line up their feet and hands. If it’s 3 down and long situation, that’s when you know it’s a pass and doing the right moves at the right time," Davis-Swain said of what he is looking at before the play begins.

That mindset and vision has paid dividends as Davis-Swain was recently one of 100 players who earned four star status in the Class of 2024 by Rivals. The recruiting service deemed him an athlete, noting he can play anything from safety to defensive tackle.

"I’m not surprised by how I play because I've been putting the work in so I can be great, but there's still more work to put in," Davis-Swain said of his success.


The sophomore sensation currently has offers from the likes: Bowling Green, Kentucky, Iowa, Liberty, Louisville, Maryland, Marshall, Michigan State, Michigan, Ole Miss, Penn State, Tennessee, and West Virginia.


Davis-Swain said he does not have any favorite schools at this time, but, instead, is enjoying the process.


As for what coaches like about his game, Davis-Swain said there is quite a bit.


"They love my first step, and they love how athletic I am," he said.


After winning a state title as a freshman and coming up just short last season, Davis-Swain is ready to help lead his team back to a state title next year as a junior. And, he has his eyes on another goal, as well.


"Win another state championship, and beat the state sack record," Davis-Swain said of his goals for the upcoming season.


81 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page