top of page
Search

Football helped turn Fort Wayne's Sir Hale into the person he is



Since the age of 4, Fort Wayne Bishop Luers High School standout Sir Hale has put up impressive numbers and learned valuable lessons on the gridiron.

But, he has also used the game to help transform who he is on and off the field.


"I started playing when I was four, and I am from a family that lives for football. Football is an opportunity to get farther in life. I have been training for football since I was eight, and I fell in love with the game. I enjoy the excitement of the game, playing every play like it’s your last. You have no worries when you're on the football field, but are out there to have fun and do what you can do. Football pushes you to be a leader and a better person and that’s what it did for me. Football formed the person I am becoming more of and am today," Hale told Heartland Sports Report.


With his high school career over, Hale took a moment to reflect on the adversity he and his teammates overcame the last several seasons.


"The adversity me and my team had to face our sophomore year winning 3 games made for a not so fun year. Everyone was down and our junior year, we stepped up and had a run to state. This year, we went 10-2, won the SAC conference and fell short in sectional. I think it was a life lesson for all of us that you can have the best team and best situation, but you have to execute on the field, off the field and in life," Hale said.


As a senior, Hale rushed for 1,110 yards and 17 touchdowns, while adding 156 yards receiving and two more touchdowns. For his career, Hale finished with 1,961 yards and 25 touchdowns on the ground, while finding the end zone six more times and hauled in 31 receptions for 407 yards through the air.


"I attribute my success to being humble and staying true to the game. I wanted to be the leader of my team and show them where being committed to what you want do would take you. I’m not surprised, and I’m more giving myself a pat on my back, as this was a goal for me and now I’m on to my next goal," Hale told HSR.

What's next is Hale taking his game to the University of Findlay in Ohio, and he is heading there focused on proving he belongs after acknowledging he felt like he was "overlooked a bit" during the recruiting period.


"It didn't go the way I thought. I thought I was overlooked a little bit, but that's everyone. I am really grateful for the teams that decided to talk to me and give me an opportunity to play at the next level," Hale said of his recruiting.


With Findlay, Hale found what he wanted -- an opportunity.


"Their coaching staff was amazing. They showed me and they didn’t just talk about it. They never looked away from me, and they stuck with me and gave me a chance and opportunity to play at a high level of football. My goal every season is to make a impact for the team and be productive and show growth," Hale said.




206 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page