top of page
Search

Hoban's Sperling 'blessed' by success



As the quarterback prepares to call the play, there he is in the backfield watching and waiting.

Lamar Sperling watches the pre-snap movement of the linebackers and linemen, hoping to catch an indicator of what the opposing defense may do to limit his big play ability. When the ball is in his hands, he immediately looks for a hole and bursts through it, looking to pick up yardage and a trip to the end zone.


For the Archbishop Hoban (OH) class of 2023 running back, that vision and dedication have been vital, not only to Hoban, but also to Sperling, who helped propel Hoban to its sixth state championship game in seven years in Ohio this past season.


It wasn't so much the plays that generated buzz, but the eye popping stats Sperling put up week after week that raised eyebrows. For example, Sperling rushed for 357 yards and five touchdowns on 31 touches to lift Hoban past Walsh Jesuit in the Division II regional final.


While some may be surprised with those efforts, Sperling is not, as he has seen himself put up numbers like that since he first got into football and overcame a fear of getting hit.


"I got into football at a young age, I’d say about 4-5 years old. I was a hyper kid and loved to run. My first time playing I was timid and didn’t like getting hit. I had no confidence. I started gaining my confidence and taking football more serious around 8 years old. I became a running back because I was the fastest player so they placed me there. I also looked up to LeSean McCoy and wanted to be like him. So when I started playing the running back position, I realized I was good at it so I started working and getting better at it," Sperling told Heartland Sports Report.


On the season, Sperling rushed 386 times for 2,934 yards and 41 trips to the end zone.


"Yes, I am very surprised by my success. It still hits me every time I read something about me in the newspaper. I knew I had it in me the whole time though. All I needed to do was put my mind and heart into it. It’s honestly a blessing. My success is due to my mom and step dad, my grandfather and any coach that has coached me, because without them I wouldn’t be where I’m at right now. From the humbleness, to the hard work I’ve put in throughout my life," Sperling said.


The hard work is continuing through the offseason, as Sperling is preparing for his upcoming senior season and using the fact that it will be his final season at Hoban for extra motivation.


"My goals for this upcoming season is to be better than I was last year and help my team get back to the state championship and finish this time. It’ll be my last year so I’ll be putting my all into this and I will work harder than ever. It motivates me a lot, with it being my last year to show these college coaches, I know I have to push harder every day from the start," he said.

Sperling is optimistic the success on the field and the eye popping numbers will impress college coaches looking for an explosive running back who has a knack for the end zone.


"It’s a slow process right now, but it’ll be picking up more this year. I am looking for a school that will get me ready for the next level both mentally and physically. Both in the room and on the field. I’d like to have a coach I can bond with but who disciplines me when needed. A school that will actually give me the opportunity to show my talents and believe in me. My message to college coaches is, I'm still here and I’m still working, give me the opportunity and I can show you what a playmaker plays like," Sperling said.






18 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page