top of page
Search

Milwaukee 'Underdog' surpasses 1,000 points in hoops career



Najashi Tolefree is one of the best boy's basketball players in the state of Wisconsin. However, the 6-foot-6-inch standout from West Allis Central High School continues to bring a chip on his shoulder, always taking the court with something to prove.

And that mindset has paid off nicely for Tolefree, as he has surpassed the 1,000 point mark in his high school career.

It's the same mindset he has had since he could walk and was first introduced to a basketball.


"My first steps was with a basketball, my first words were with a basketball. Basketball is something I naturally gained a love for. I love the game , respect the game and the game has helped me become a better person and given me a opportunity at a better life. I enjoy a lot of things about the game, but, honestly, I just enjoy competing each and every workout, practice, games, etc. I also love being able to use my talent to network and give myself opportunities with my talent to provide and better life for my family and I," Tolefree told Heartland Sports Report.


Tolefree continued by saying he feels as if he is always been an underdog coming out of Milwaukee. That is why he continues to put his head down and rise atop the charts as one of the top players in Wisconsin.


"People looking over me has me fueled everyday. I want to be better than everybody, no matter if it’s in the classroom, the court, playing chess, I want to be great. Being one of the top players or one of the worst players does not matter in this business because when you step on the court, there’s not a ranking, writer or tweet that can save you. I’m very appreciative of the recognition, but I try to stay humble and understand the job is not finished," Tolefree noted.


During his career at West Allis Central, Tolefree has climbed atop the charts when it comes to scoring and has enjoyed an "incredible" career that began as a freshman.


"My high school career was very incredible. The West Allis community welcomed me with open arms, as I stared varsity as a freshman and went to state. My sophomore year and junior year, I was growing as a leader and learning different things from the guys that’s were older and more seasoned. My senior year, I just cracked my 1,000 points and I’m also on the road to breaking the school rebounding record as well. Besides basketball though, high school was a blast and I was very involved within my school, which made high school a lot more fun," he said.


When it comes to the 1,000-point mark, Tolefree told HSR it was an "honor."


"Reaching my 1,000 points in the first three games of my senior season and knowing I’m 120 points away from breaking the school record is a honor . I love my community and I just want to leave my legacy and when people hear West Allis Central they think of Najashi Tolefree," he said.


That legacy will continue to the college ranks for Tolefree. Despite having Covid impact his recruiting, the Wisconsin player found a home at Northern Michigan University.


"Going there, it’s the same mindset, which is going there to take care of business. I still have a chip on my shoulder because as long as it took for me to get to where I’m at, it’s quick to loose it all . Every time I step on the court I have a chip on my shoulder because the job is not finished," Tolefree said.





128 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page