top of page
Search

Missouri grappler seeks a title before heading to Nebraska



Being from a small town and having a few friends already involved in the sport of wrestling has paid huge dividends for Griffin Ray, a class of 2023 wrestler from Hillsboro High School in Missouri.


At the age of 6, Ray decided to give it a try and it has been a huge success every since.


"My favorite thing about wrestling is the feeling you get before a big match. I love knowing that your about to go into a 6 minute war where anything can happen. Just 2 guys putting it all on the line for their team, and all eyes are on your mat. There is nothing like it," Ray recently told the Heartland Sports Report.


The decision has been a great one for Ray, as he recently broke the century mark in wins and is a two-time Missouri high school state wrestling championships qualifier. There is no question he has progressed nicely since his freshman season.


"Mostly my offense has improved. I used to do more counter punching and wait for opportunities. But my coaches have really helped me develop my leg attacks over the years. Now I feel like I make things happen and create my own opportunities. Also, my mindset has changed a lot. I feel like I am mentally tougher right now. I am more in control of my mind before and during a match," Ray said.


And for all the success he has had, he takes it all in stride, stating that he is "grateful" for it all.


"I'm not surprised because I know how much I have put into it. I know the sacrifices that I made along the way. I believe that hard work always pays off. I am grateful for the opportunities that I have been given. From my dad driving me around the country to my high school coach working to get me to the next level, I have so many great coaches and positive influences that this sport has given me. They have allowed me to accomplish what I have. They kept me focused when the rewards were not being seen yet," Ray said.


As for breaking the 100-win mark, Ray jokes that he didn't even know he was that close.


"I actually didn't know I was close to that number. It's a cool milestone for sure, but I guess in my mind I have my mind set on bigger things than number of wins. I just try to stay focused on winning a state title. I guess the wins just kind of come with that," he said.


In addition to being an accomplished wrestler, Ray is also the quarterback for the Hawks in the fall, something he says helps prepare him for the grind on the mat.


"As a quarterback, I learn to be calm during adversity. When things in football break down around you, you simply find a way. I guess it's all just a form of competing at a high level to me. It doesn't matter if it's on a football field or a wrestling mat, just compete," Ray said.


The attitude and success Ray has experienced are major reasons why the Class of 2023 prospect has already committed to the University of Nebraska to wrestle after high school. Ray told Heartland Sports Report that the Cornhuskers program just felt right to him after he visited.


"I visited several programs before Nebraska. Once I took my official there, I just knew that it was for me. I love the family culture they have there, and their commitment to being great. The coaches are top notch and they truly care about their wrestlers. The wrestlers all push each other and take pride in each other's success. It has sort of the small town feel I'm used to, but on a big campus. I had some offers from other schools. But for me it came down to North Carolina or Nebraska. I also had some other schools wanting me to visit. But like I said, I knew Nebraska was home," Ray said.


Getting his commitment out of the way early allows Ray to focus solely on his high school career and several goals he has before arriving in Lincoln.


"I'm not sure that I would say it was very important to get it out of the way. But It is nice now that it's done, and I know where my next step is. My goals are to get better. I need to get better every day to be ready for the journey ahead. Other than that, I am staying focused on helping my team win their first team state championship in school history," Ray said.




18 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page