top of page
Search

Standout Missouri LB opts to stay in-state, is ready for SEC



The role of a linebacker is to be violent, deliver punishing hits and, often times, be the heart and soul of a defense.

In Missouri, Boonville High School linebacker DJ Wesolak fits the mold of a linebacker to a T. And, it has been that way since Wesolak first got into the game of football at a young age.


"I got into the game at a young age. I think I was about 7 when I first started playing tackle football, and I think that’s when I found love with the game. I had a great coach and mentor when I was growing up playing. I had the same coach since I was 7 and we went undefeated with that same coach until we reached junior high football and the same kids played every year. Then my junior high career played out the same -- never lost and kept the team together. But the game is just different for me when I’m on the field. I get juiced, I do stuff that most players can’t do at my size, I move different and react different to things. I like to call myself a gamer or a playmaker," Wesolak told Heartland Sports Report.


247 national recruiting analyst Allen Trieu agrees, comparing Wesolak to Shaquil Barrett, who plays linebacker for the defending Super Bowl champion Tampa Bay Buccaneers.


In describing Wesolak on his recruiting profile, Trieu wrote, "Athletic defender who has played standing up and from a three-point in high school and could project to either in college. Has the frame and length to bulk up into a down defensive end, but could fit with 3-4 teams as an outside backer. Very quick off the ball and has good play speed. Shows motor and does not give up on plays. Athletic enough to where if he gets cut, can regain his feet and get home. Aggressive and plays fast, but the times where he needs to stay home and be disciplined, he does it. Pursues hard and has the foot speed to track down plays to the flanks. Violent when taking on blocks. Still needs to develop more pass-rush arsenal as far as technique and moves. Has not been challenged in that regard at the high school level as he has not seen a lot of offensive linemen who can match him talent wise. Clear high-major prospect who has developed through high school including with his approach to the game and should be an impact player in college and potential draft choice."


Wesolak stated his success is the result of all the work he has put in both on and off the gridiron.


"I think I’m not surprised," he said of his success. "I always felt I was different in a way and that I could make it however far I wanted to if I tried to put my mind to it. But honestly, I think I’m just the best at what I do because I take a different approach to the game. I hit it head on and I don’t run away from competition. I rarely get knocked down, but when I do, it brings a different player out of me," Wesolak told HSR.

That attitude helped Wesolak become an All-American, a distinction he says was a dream of his since becoming a football player.

"Becoming one is a different feeling. You realize all your hard word has payed off and that you have the path to make it to the next level, but also I think the best feeling is when the game was over and all the kids and fans hanging over the stands asking for your autograph and gloves. I think that’s one thing that hits the heart," Wesolak said.


The honor came despite Wesolak missing a chunk of his senior season due to an off-the field issue. Rather than run from the problem, Wesolak said it was a great learning experience for him.


"Honestly, I learned who will try to hurt you in your succession just to ruin you, so I learned to watch the people you call your friends or family because they will always lie to see you fall or to watch you get hurt," he said.

During his career, Wesolak hauled in offers from close to 50 schools, including the likes of: Florida, LSU, Southern California, Alabama, Auburn, Boston College, Clemson, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Miami, Notre Dame, Oregon, Oklahoma, Penn State and South Carolina, just to name a few. When the dust settled though, one school stood above the others -- Missouri.


"They sent love my way through every situation I’ve been through since my junior year. They never left and kept it consistent. They always had a class that came after me to make me feel at home. Luther (Burden) and Sam (Horn) played a big role in the recruitment with them giving me their pitches," Wesolak said of Missouri.

Pressed further about what stood out to him about Missouri, Wesolak simply said, "It's home."


"I’m a couple minutes away and I know I can start something there fast. Just like Luther said, we want to make our own path and name somewhere else," Wesolak said, referring to Burden, the nation's top wide receiver who committed to the Tigers.


Wesolak will head to Columbia with goals in mind and an opportunity to prove his mettle against SEC competition, two things he admits excite him.


"I want to prove myself I can be a hybrid linebacker at any level, so that’s really my main goal to focus on myself and prove I can do whatever I want at any level and be successful at that. Then also try to be an All-American there, too. I feel like I’m under looked in a way. I feel I’m just as good as any player playing on the defensive side of the ball. I can make plays and get the ball back for my team in any situation. But as long as I play, I will always prove I’m the best," Wesolak told Heartland Sports Report.

250 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page