top of page
Search

Warren Central's Walker continues tradition of top WR's



Over the years, Warren Central High School (IN) has been known nationally for its wide receiver talent.

Former players like David Bell, who was the Gatorade Player-of-the-Year in high school and made a name for himself at Purdue, immediately come to mind when the average fan things about Warren Central football. Desmond Tardy is another, as he became Mr. Football in Indiana before heading to Purdue and then the Indoor Football League.


You can go ahead and add Class of 2023 prospect Joseph Walker Jr. to the list of talented Warren Central wide receivers who will play at the next level, as he has a skill set that has made him one of the premiere receivers not only in Indiana, but in the nation.


Not bad considering Walker Jr. didn't hit the gridiron until he was in the seventh grade and football wasn't even his first love.


"I've been a basketball player my whole life, and I just felt that I should try a new sport. My middle school coach suggested I get into football and I fell in love with the game after my first encounter in 7th grade. What I most enjoy is new competition," Walker Jr. said.


He may be a late bloomer to the sport, but Walker Jr. has definitely made up for the lost time with his play, leading the Warriors on the gridiron and doing it in honor of a fallen Warren Central standout, Dijon Anderson. Anderson was murdered in 2017 a few days before he was to have started his college career at Southern Illinois.


Walker Jr. told Heartland Sports Report that his success is a blessing and is the result of giving everything he has to Anderson's memory. "Well more than anything, it’s a blessing to even be at that level and compete against some of the best football players in the nation. I try not to get ahead of myself, and just want to get better everyday and do what I love. I attribute it to being the best me for my family and my inspiration Dijon Anderson. He was one of the best to ever play at this level. I was in 7th grade when he passed, but I remember visiting the high school and getting to meet him and David Bell and it left a huge impact for me to take it serious and do my best. It’s been my push every since," Walker Jr. said.


And, now that he has achieved some success and is the next big time wide receiver to come out of Warren Central, Walker Jr. notes it is a tremendous feeling.


"It’s honestly an honor to be apart of that legacy. All leaders must follow first and these are great names to come behind," he said.

A season ago, Walker Jr. and the Warriors adjusted to a new coach in Mike Krischner and a 5-4 season that ended with a sectional loss to Lawrence Central in the first round of the tournament.


"Last season was interesting, and I learned a lot about my body and abilities. Although we had some tough matchups, we had some great games as well. I am just looking forward to next season and capitalizing on my strength and improving my weaknesses," Walker Jr. said.


Despite the rough season, Walker Jr. was able to go to San Antonio as a participant in the All American Bowl National Combine, an opportunity he said was huge for his game.


"It was a great experience. I learned a lot there as expected. The wide receiver coach there helped me figure out better routes, speed and changing direction," Walker Jr. acknowledged.

Those lessons will be put to use as Walker Jr. continues to draw attention from colleges, as he already owns offers from the likes of: Indiana, Ball State, Miami (OH), Pittsburgh, Purdue and Toledo.


Walker Jr. said while recruiting is going well thus far, he is excited about getting out in front of more coaches across the Midwest.


"I don’t have a top list yet, and am keeping my options open even more now because I expect to do even greater things this season. I am looking for my best fit and school that can get me the ball of course," Walker Jr. said.




264 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page